BSB41419 Certificate IV in Work Health and Safety

BSB41419 Certificate IV in Work Health and Safety

Course Objective:

This qualification applies to individuals working in a work health and safety (WHS) role who provide a broad range of technical knowledge and skills, and have some limited responsibility for the output of others.

The qualification applies to those working as supervisors, WHS personnel, and workers in other WHS-related roles who manage risks effectively, apply relevant WHS laws, and contribute to WHS within the workplace in known or changing contexts with established parameters.

Course Times

24/7 day/night


24 Months

Courses Run

Online only


Online Training Only

Service Fee

$4500 – Discounted online Price $1600

Other Fees


Delivery / Course Duration:

Upon request, ACTA Group provide flexible delivery options whilst meeting national standards of compliance and safety.

This assessment is an online course which involves a series of quizzes and written questions. Including projects and evidence-based assessments.

  • Duration: 24 Months
  • Courses run: online only
  • Course times between:24/7 day/night
  • Corporate packages
  • Training conducted by our Nationally Recognised Industry specialist trainer and assessors
  • Service Fee: $4500 – Discounted Price $1600
  • Online Only – Nation wdie 
ACTA Group Course Admission Requirements

Participants must:

  • Be at least 16 years of age;
  • Have completed Year 10 in the Australian school system or equivalent;
  • Have language, literacy and numeracy skills equivalent to ASCF Level 3
  • Provision of the participant’s Unique Student Identifier (USI)
  • Provision of Australian legal photo identification for assessment purposes and;
  • Be employed in a role within an organisation relating to WHS and/or implementing/ monitoring WHS in the workplace, and study via a workplace supported pathway.

Upon successful completion of this Nationally Recognised Qualification, students will receive a Testamur in BSB41419 Certificate IV in Work Health and Safety.

To be awarded the BSB41419 Certificate IV in Work Health and Safety the following packaging rules apply:
Total number of units = 10
5 core units plus
5 elective units, of which:

  • 3 units must be from Group A below
  • the remaining 2 units may be selected as follows:
    • both may be selected from Group A, Group B or any currently endorsed Training Package qualification or accredited course at the same Australian Qualifications Framework (AQF) level
    • 1 may be selected from a Certificate III or Diploma, from any currently endorsed Training Package qualification or accredited course.

Elective units must be relevant to the work environment and the qualification, maintain the integrity of the AQF alignment and contribute to a valid, industry-supported vocational outcome.

Units of competency
Core Units

BSBWHS412 Assist with workplace compliance with WHS laws
BSBWHS413 Contribute to implementation and maintenance of WHS consultation and participation processes
BSBWHS414 Contribute to WHS risk management
BSBWHS415 Contribute to implementing WHS management systems
BSBWHS416 Contribute to workplace incident response

Elective units
Group A

BSBBIN401 Analyse and present research information
BSBWHS417 Assist with managing WHS implications of return to work
BSBWHS418 Assist with managing WHS compliance of contractors
BSBWHS419 Contribute to implementing WHS monitoring processes

Group B

BSBLDR411 Demonstrate leadership in the workplace
BSBSUS411 implement and monitor environmentally sustainable work practices

Recognition of prior learning (RPL) is all about the skills and knowledge you’ve collected through work and life experiences and then transferring them to current training course requirements. RPL students must be able to demonstrate currency operating machine and complete all assessments without fail, to be deemed competent to operate machine safely and given a Statement of Attainment.

Pathways for participants considering this course include:

  • Certificate IV in Business
  • Certificate IV in Civil construction
  • Certificate IV in Underground metalliferous mining operations
  • Certificate IV in Gas supply industry operations
  • Certificate IV in Leadership and Management
  • Certificate IV in Landscape design or other industry related qualifications; and
  • Direct entry.

After achieving this qualification, participants may undertake a relevant Certificate IV, Diploma or higher qualification in civil construction related fields. This may include generic, technical or supervisory course streams.